ESSEX CHESS ASSOCIATION

FOUNDED 1898

MINUTES OF THE ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING HELD AT St. ETHELBURGA'S CATHOLIC CLUB, BARKING on 30 JUNE 2005 at 7.50 pm.

Present: J.A Philpott, D Smith (in the chair), S.L Wedlock, I.B.N Smith, I. Hunnable, J. Goldberg, R. Watts, R. Manning, M. Cresswell, D. Millward, I. MacLachlan, J. Rosenberg, J White, J Rayner, J Campbell, S Gilmour, C Ramage, T Barton, & F O'Regan.

1. Apologies for absence

R. Heppinstall, A. Lutton & S. Abbott.

2. Minutes of the AGM held on 29 June 2004 and matters arising

The minutes were agreed as a true record and the following matters arising were noted, U100s lost in the national finals.

3. Officers' Reports

President

John Philpott gave a verbal report noting the successful revival of the League champions v President's team, which will be held again this year on 13th September.

Chairman

There were no issues to report on.

General Secretary

A written report was prepared by Ian MacLachlan.

Treasurer

The unaudited accounts had been circulated with the Agenda and after noting that the audited accounts were unchanged duly adopted. A written report was also presented by Joe Rosenberg.

Match Captain

A written report was prepared by Roy Heppinstall, circulated at the meeting and duly adopted.

Under 175 Match Captain

John Philpott presented his report which was duly adopted.

Under 150 Match Captain

David Smith gave a verbal report at the meeting.

Under 125 Match Captain

Mike Cresswell gave a verbal report.

The team had lost their first 2 matches, drew the third and then won the last 2 but were unable to qualify for the national stages after finishing 4th. He also announced that he will be stepping down from the role and a new captain will be required for the 2005–06 season.

Under 100 Match Captain

Fin O'Regan gave a verbal report.

The team had qualified for the National Stages finishing runner-up in their SCCU section. They beat Worcs in the qualifying round, did not have to play in the quarter finals (Somerset withdrew) and beat Lancs in the semi-finals.

{They then beat Staffs in the final the weekend after this meeting.}

Correspondence Match Captain

A written report was prepared by Steve Abbott reporting that in 2003/04 Essex retained both the Sinclair and Minor counties trophies but only finished 4th in the Ward Higgs trophy.

Congress & Tournament Secretary

A written (congress) and verbal (tournament) reports were given by Ivor Smith, covering possible new accommodation for the congress at Epping or Loughton and the team blitz and individual lightning competitions.

League Secretary

David Millward presented his report, reporting that Wanstead I, Wanstead II, and Roding & Loughton II won divisions 1,2 and 3 respectively.

Grader

David Millward presented a written report.

Junior Organiser

In the absence of a junior chess officer David Smith gave a verbal report.

Publicity Officer & Webmaster

Ian Hunnable gave verbal reports.

4. Presentation of Trophies.

The Division 1 Trophy was presented to Wanstead & Woodford I (Steve Gilmour)

The Division 2 Trophy was presented to Wanstead & Woodford II (I Hunnable)

The Division 3 Trophy which had been won by Roding & Loughton was not available for presentation.

Knockout Trophy was presented to Barking (J White)

5. Adoption of the Child Protection policy.

The policy was circulated at the meeting, read and duly adopted. The policy will now be circulated to all clubs and affiliated leagues.

6. Election of Officers, other members of the Executive and Vice Presidents for 2005/06.

Office	Name	Proposed	Seconded
President	John Philpott	D Smith	
Chairman	David Smith	I Hunnable	C Ramage
General Secretary	lan Maclachlan	C Ramage	J White
Assistant General Secretary	Jeff Goldberg	J Philpott	R Watts
Treasurer	Joe Rosenberg	C Ramage	R Watts
League Secretary	David Millward	S Wedlock	J Goldberg
Congress Secretary	Ivor Smith	J Goldberg	R Watts
Grader	David Millward	C Ramage	S Wedlock
Correspondence Match Captain	Steve Abbott	J Philpott	D Millward
Match Captain	Roy Heppinstall	D Smith	D Millward
Assistant Match Captain	David Smith	D Millward	C Ramage
Publicity Officer	Ian Hunnable	D Millward	C Ramage
Webmaster	lan Hunnable	D Millward	C Ramage
Tournament Secretary	Ivor Smith	D Millward	J Goldberg

Executive Colin Ramage and Roy Watts Proposed by I Hunnable, seconded C Ramage

All were then elected unanimously.

S Wedlock proposed A Lutton to be the **Junior Organiser**, the proposal was carried unanimously and A Lutton will be approached after the meeting to be offered the position.

The following were re-elected as VPs:

S.J. Abbott, S.M. Kalinsky, G. Kenworthy, R.D. Manning, R. Heppinstall, I. Hunnable, D. Millward, C. Ramage J.A. Philpott, J.M. Sargent, D. Smith, I.B.N. Smith, R. Watts, S.L. Wedlock, N. Went and A. Martin.

(Proposed by IBN Smith, seconded by F O'Regan)

Election of New Vice Presidents & Hon. Life Members

R. Joyce & P Walker were elected as Vice President. This was carried unanimously.

J Philpott proposed, seconded by D Smith that R Watts becomes an Honorary Life Member. This was carried unanimously.

The following position remained vacant:

None with the exception of Junior Organiser noted above.

7. The appointment of the Auditor

Syd Kalinsky. Proposed by J Goldberg, seconded R Manning.

Carried unanimously subject to Sid Kalinsky's agreement.

8. Subscriptions and `Game Fee' fees and surcharges for 2005/06.

Joe Rosenberg proposed no changes to the subscriptions and Game Fee for next season.

The following rates will apply

- (a) a club affiliation fee of £15.00;
- (b) a fee for affiliated leagues and other affiliated organisations of £20.00;
- (c) Game Fee of 52p per player per game in the Essex League(made up of BCF 44p and ECA 8p;
- (d) Individual subscriptions of £2.00 for adults and £1.00 for juniors;
- (e) Vice-President's subscription of £12.00 (minimum)
- J Rosenberg proposed, seconded D Millward, that these be approved. This was carried nem con.
- (f) i) any Essex League club failing to pay the amount due by 31 December or within 45 days of the date of the invoice whichever is the later should pay a surcharge of 10% of the amount outstanding (minimum £15).
- ii) further any Essex League club failing to pay the amount due by 31 January or within 75 days of the date of the invoice whichever is the later should be referred to the ECA Executive committee for consideration of further penalties.
- J Rosenberg proposed, seconded D Millward, that these be approved. This was carried nem con.

9. Weekend League

- J Philpott gave a verbal update informing the meeting that 6 teams took part Chelmsford, Maldon, ShelWick, Barking, Writtle and Ilford. With Writtle emerging as winners. The success of the tournament was debated but the league could learn from its mistakes.
- J Goldberg made a number of suggestions for improvement. IBN Smith suggested reducing the time or/and combining with the Kent League.

The committee (P Walker, J Rosenberg, I Smith, J Philpott & J Goldberg) were left to make some decisions for the next season.

10. Any Other Business

The knockout had an extra team entered. (C Ramage)

- The minutes of the GPC and AGM should be put on the website but not the Exec although a summary could. (S Wedlock)
- The BCF controller imposed a fine of £10 on Somerset U100 team and encouraged Essex to claim £10 expenses however the captain later declined to claim this amount. (F O'Regan)
- The national club championship final is 10 July 2005 (J Philpott)

The meeting closed at 9-12pm.